Brian Dickson, MSN, RN, CPEN  


Capstone College of Nursing, University of Alabama              

AL-HAC Co-Chair Diversity Committee, American Assembly for Men in Nursing, Birmingham NAHN



Carol Ratcliffe, DNP, RN, COI, FACHE           Associate Professor, Chair, Administration, Health Systems, Management, and Leadership Department


Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing, Samford University

AL-HAC Co-leader, Chairperson for the AL-HAC Health Workforce Data Repository Committee



Christie Shelton, PhD, RN, CNE

Dean, Associate Professor                   

College of Nursing, Jacksonville State University            

SAACN Liaison



Cody Thompson, PhD

Director of Health Services               

Alabama Community College System        



Dave White                                                         Health Policy Adviser                     

Office of Governor Robert Bentley


Doreen Harper, PhD, RN, FAAN  

Dean, Professor and Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing                   

School of Nursing, University of Alabama at Birmingham              

AL-HAC Ex-officio



Ellen Buckner, RN, PhD, CNE, AE-C              Professor and Chair, Undergraduate Nursing

Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing, Samford University

NOBC Representative



Gwen Lipscomb                                                Executive Council, Alabama AARP



Jane Yarbrough, BSN, RN               

Health Management, Quality Manager

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama

AL-HAC Co-leader


                                                                            John G. Beard, MBA, JD                                    Chairman and President

Alacare Home Health & Hospice





Nena Sanders, PhD, RN                                   Vice Provost

College of Health Sciences, Samford University    

AL-HAC Ex-officio                             



Paul Harrelson, MPAS, PA-C           

Associate Program Director, Clinical Coordinator, Assistant Professor            

Physician Assistant Studies, University of Alabama at Birmingham

President, Alabama Society of Physician Assistants 



Peggy Benson, RN, MSHA, MSN, NE-BC      

Executive Officer          

Alabama Board of Nursing 


Rebecca Huie, DNP, RN, ACNP                      Director of Primary Care

Chattahoochee Valley Community College  

President, ACAPNEP



Resa Lord, RN, MSN, CPNP                     Chairperson, Health Sciences 

Birmingham VA Medical Center   

President, ASNA 



Robin Oglesby, RN                                           General Manager

VITAS Healthcare



Ron Sparks 


Alabama Rural Development Office



Shaina Berry

Program Manager




Susan Alexander, DNP, ANP-BC, ADM-BC

Associate Professor

College of Nursing, University of Alabama in Huntsville

President, NPAA



Tedra S. Smith, DNP, CPNP-PC, CNE

Assistant Professor, Specialty Track Coordinator Pediatric Nurse Practitioner – Primary Care             

School of Nursing, University of Alabama at Birmingham          

President, Alabama League of Nursing 



William Canary                                                 

President and CEO

Business Council of Alabama

Kathleen Ladner, PhD, RN, FACHE               Adjunct Professor                      

University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Nursing              

AL-HAC Co-leader, Co-PI, and Interim Chair for the Regional Concerns Committee



Kerry Gossett            

Former Clinical Director of Anesthesia at St. Vincent's Hospital

Regional Vice President of Clinical Services for AmSol Anesthesia Management Solutions Company           


Kim Davey, PhD              

Assistant Professor of Public Health             

School of Public Health, Samford University AL-HAC Chair Communications and Development Committee



Lacy Gibson  

Human Resources Director

Alabama Hospital Association

AL-HAC Co-leader



Mark Jackson      

Executive Director

Medical Association of the State of Alabama


                                                                            Marsha Adams, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN                                                                   

Dean and Professor

College of Nursing, The University of Alabama in Huntsville         

SAACN President



Martha Dawson, DNP, RN, FACHE          Coordinator of Nursing and Health Systems Administration and Assisting Professor         School of Nursing, University of Alabama at Birmingham

AL-HAC Grant PI and Co-Chair of Diversity Committee 



Mary Williamson, MSN, RN            

Immediate Past President            

Birmingham Black Nurses Association, Inc.



Michael Crouch, PharmD, BCPS, FASHP Dean and Professor       

McWhorter School of Pharmacy, Samford University



Michael Fowler                                                 Regional Account Executive – Alabama



                                                                            Michelle Cheshire, RN, EdD                          RN Mobility Coordinator

Capstone College of Nursing, University of Alabama                       

Chair, Advancing Education Taskforce

Steering Committee


These volunteers are vital to AL-HAC’s ability to achieve our mission and act as the guiding body of the coalition. As a statewide coalition, we rely heavily on the collaboration of a diverse group of professionals to guide our endeavors and provide their expert recommendations. AL-HAC is incredibly grateful for this outstanding group that provides AL-HAC with such exemplary leadership and service:

Find out more about the

Campaign for Action here.


© 2014 by AL-HAC.

Proudly created with